Worry

On Wednesday night, I listened to a few teachings on the topic of worry.  One was a Bible study at my old church, the other was a teaching by Elyse Fitzpatrick. Both referenced Jesus’ teaching on worry in the end of Matthew 6.

Everybody agrees. Worry divides the mind. Between what actually is and what might be.

Worrying just comes naturally.

When one thing isn’t worrying me enough, it seems my enemy cannot help but send something else along for me to worry about.

When I woke up this morning, my biggest worry was that my older brother is fiercely opposed to a direction my life is more likely than not going to take.  And honestly, the more I’ve prayed about it the more God assured me that hey, not everyone is always going to like what I do. (I crave affirmation). That if He calls me to do it, I need to do it, regardless of what my brother thinks.  And, except for a few panicked moments, I’ve been like, “Eh, okay, God.”

Then this morning, on my way to church, I had a car accident. Everyone involved is fine, but although it’s drivable, my car is a mess. The other car had some damage,  but mine took most of it. As it probably should have. The accident was my fault. And I feel horrible, because it was just so avoidable on so many levels.

When I arrived at church, Psalm 91 came to my heart: “For He shall give His angels charge over you, to keep you in all your ways.”

Sometimes, I get worried that I am in the wrong place at the wrong time. And I wondered that today a little, but I was on my way to church, for crying out loud.

After church, I was telling my younger brother and sister about the accident. They had come through on the highway a few minutes after me and they had seen an accident in the exact area mine had taken place. When I was telling them about my accident, they thought maybe they had driven past me.  But the accident they saw was a little different. Cars were towed away and a person went away in an ambulance from that accident.

My car? It looks like a clunker. Me? I’m a little sore and shaken up. But I drove myself away in my drivable car. The other people drove away in a drivable car.

I am remarkably blessed.

“What if you had killed somebody else or yourself because of your critical misjudgment?” my Accuser asks.

I rebuke you. That is not the reality. The reality is we are all physically fine.

“What if you had totaled someone else’s car or your own?” he comes at me again.

I rebuke you. That is not the reality. The reality is that although there is a lot of work to be done, the cars are drivable.

“What if God decides to punish you and not provide for your needs in this accident?” the final blow, not against my person, but His.

I rebuke you. That is not the reality. God says, “Because he has set his love upon Me, therefore I will deliver him. I will set him on high, because He has known my name” (Psalm 91:14).  I claim that!

Because I can trust God, because I DO trust God, I refuse to worry about non-realities.

Who knew God could do so much through a car accident? I can’t wait to see what He does tomorrow!

 

Psalm 91

He who dwells in the secret place of the Most High Shall abide under the shadow of the Almighty.  I will say of the Lord, He is my refuge and my fortress; My God, in Him I will trust.

 Surely He shall deliver you from the snare of the fowler And from the perilous pestilence.  He shall cover you with His feathers, And under His wings you shall take refuge; His truth shall be your shield and buckler.  You shall not be afraid of the terror by night, Nor of the arrow that flies by day,  Nor of the pestilence that walks in darkness, Nor of the destruction that lays waste at noonday.

 A thousand may fall at your side, And ten thousand at your right hand; But it shall not come near you.  Only with your eyes shall you look, And see the reward of the wicked.

 Because you have made the Lord, who is my refuge, Even the Most High, your dwelling place,  No evil shall befall you, Nor shall any plague come near your dwelling;  For He shall give His angels charge over you, To keep you in all your ways.  In their hands they shall bear you up, Lest you dash your foot against a stone.  You shall tread upon the lion and the cobra, The young lion and the serpent you shall trample underfoot.

 Because he has set his love upon Me, therefore I will deliver him; I will set him on high, because he has known My name.  He shall call upon Me, and I will answer him; I will be with him in trouble; I will deliver him and honor him.  With long life I will satisfy him, And show him My salvation.

 

 

 

 

Tagged , , , , , , , ,

2 thoughts on “Worry

  1. I am glad you are well. Car accidents
    are kinda scary. God is mighty to save!

  2. Ann says:

    I hate the “what if’s” 🙂 What if the next time the enemy tries to get us with one of his “what if’s” we just tell him “what if you just shut up” 🙂 Glad you are okay from your accident. He is faithful!

Leave a Reply

