Pick me! Pick me!

“But when He saw the multitudes, He was moved with compassion for them, because they were weary and scattered, like sheep having no shepherd. Then He said to His disciples, ‘The harvest truly is plentiful, but the laborers are few.  Therefore pray the Lord of the harvest to send out laborers into His harvest'” (Matthew 9:36-38).

“Also I heard the voice of the Lord, saying: ‘Whom shall I send, And who will go for Us?’ Then I said, ‘Here am I! Send me'” (Isaiah 6:8).

In my imagination, I can see Isaiah in the throne room of Heaven, in the presence of God, jumping up and down, waving his hand in the air: “Here I am! Send me!” Or maybe I’m just seeing what I would be doing if I was there.

Over the past three years or so, I have developed a burden for college ministry. Last summer I distinctly heard God’s call in my life to be involved in college ministry, but as I took steps in that direction the door was definitely closed. It was one of the most jading experiences of my life, and as a result, I came away thinking I was hearing things.

I am happy to report I was not hearing things, although I may have misinterpreted the role God wanted me to play. I doubt that I will ever be directly involved in on-site college student ministries going forward, and I am surprisingly content with that.  I have another role to play, namely resourceful networking.

Still. I want to go!

I know, I know. I can have effective ministries right where I am, and God has blessed me to where that is my reality.  And I’m passionate and excited about what God is doing in my life.

But the desire is stirring in my heart. Coming alive.

To go and minister full-time to lost and needy people. Perhaps in Zambia. Perhaps somewhere else. I don’t really know.

I just know my heart cry to God right now is, “Pick me! Pick me!”

Leave a Reply

