Calm Before the Storm

Before each of the storms in my life, God has been gracious enough to grant a time of solace. A time, I have learned, to build me up for what is to come. I love these sweet times of refreshment.

God and I had a moment yesterday, as I listened to the song “Speak, O Lord” by Keith and Kristyn Getty. I was so moved by these lines: “Cause our faith to rise, cause our eyes to see, Your majestic love and authority. Words of pow’r, that can never fail – Let their truth prevail over unbelief.” And I needed that moment, because when it was over, my life changed unexpectedly and radically.

Right now I’m just clinging to my hard times mantra: “Who shall separate us from the love of Christ? Shall tribulation, or distress, or persecution, or famine, or nakedness, or peril, or sword? … NO, in all these things we are MORE THAN CONQUERORS through Him who loves us!” (Romans 8:35, 37).

Experience and maturity have taught me this change is not the end, but the beginning of a new spiritual adventure, but right now it just hurts. Prayers are coveted.

Leave a Reply

