Amazing Grace

“The Lord has promised good to me;

His word my hope secures.

He will my shield and portion be,

As long as life endures.”

~John Newton

The Lord has promised good to me.

“And we know that in all things God works for the good of those who love Him, who have been called according to His purpose” (Romans 8:28 NIV).

“You are good, and what You do is good; teach me Your decrees” (Psalm 119:68 NIV).

“Taste and see that the Lord is good; blessed is the one who takes refuge in him” (Psalm 34:8 NIV).

His word my hope secures.

“For no matter how many promises God has made, they are ‘Yes’ in Christ. And so through Him the ‘Amen’ is spoken by us to the glory of God” (2 Corinthians 1:20 NIV).

“Yes, my soul, find rest in God; my hope comes from Him.Truly He is my rock and my salvation; He is my fortress, I will not be shaken. My salvation and my honor depend on God; He is my mighty rock, my refuge.Trust in Him at all times, you people; pour out your hearts to him, for God is our refuge” (Psalm 62:5-8 NIV).

He will my shield and portion be.

“For the Lord God is a sun and shield; the Lord bestows favor and honor; no good thing does He withhold from those whose walk is blameless” (Psalm 84:11 NIV).

“Because of the Lord’s great love we are not consumed, for His compassions never fail.They are new every morning; great is your faithfulness.I say to myself, ‘The Lord is my portion; therefore I will wait for Him'” (Lamentations 3:22-24 NIV).

As long as life endures.

“Your love, Lord, reaches to the heavens, Your faithfulness to the skies … How priceless is Your unfailing love, O God! People take refuge in the shadow of Your wings” (Psalm 36:5,7 NIV).

So many unplanned things over the past week. Things that have affected and changed my life, affected and changed the lives of those around me, and will continue to do so. It is during these times, during these circumstances that I look to the One who will not change – my Lord and Savior, Jesus Christ. Truly, He “is the same yesterday, and today, and forever” (Hebrews 13:8 NIV).

Oh, yes, “The Lord has promised good to me; His word my hope secures. He will my shield and portion be, as long as life endures.”

Leave a Reply

