Victory

I don’t think it’s a big secret how much I like the book of Isaiah. Some people turn to the Psalms for comfort during hard times, but more often than not, I’m in Isaiah. It’s where I first understood God’s love for me and at the outset of a trial a number of years ago, I was reading through Isaiah. I have always  found immense comfort there. So I go back to those highlighted, underlined, notated passages whenever I find myself struggling. About a month ago, as I was finishing reading through Exodus, I began praying about where to go next, and I found myself wanting to revisit Isaiah. And that’s what I’ve been doing.

These verses stood out to me this week, perhaps because so much of my focus has been on victorious living recently:

“Your dead shall live; together with my dead body they shall arise” (Isaiah 26:19a).

“Your covenant with death will be annulled, and your agreement with Sheol shall not stand” (Isaiah 28:18a).

Jesus says, “I am the resurrection and the life. He who believes in Me, though he may die, he shall live” (John 11:25).  Life in Christ can be hard; we are told that suffering proves the value of faith. It can be taxing, distressing, confusing. In the midst of all of that, though, we are free and we have life because of Christ. He is the One who annulled the covenant with death, so that we can have life! And Jesus’ work was not so that we could have just any life; He says, “I have come that they may have life, and that they may have it more abundantly” (John 10:10).

“And you, being dead in your trespasses and the uncircumcision of your flesh, He has made alive together with Him, having forgiven you all trespasses, having wiped out the handwriting of requirements that was against us, which was contrary to us. And He has taken it out of the way, having nailed it to the cross. Having disarmed principalities and powers, He made a public spectacle of them, triumphing over them in it” (Colossians 2:13-15).

Love it.

Leave a Reply

