The Undesirable One

How can I put who I am on display instead of what I am able do?

I want to be known, not just used.

I want to be desired, not just needed.

I want to be loved, not just depended upon.

There is more to me than what I can do for you.

There is more to me than what I have to offer you.

There is more to me than what I can help people with.

Because someday my usefulness to you will expire.

Someday what you need me for will be irrelevant.

And someday I will be too frail to support you.

But I will still be here.

Will I be less of a person when I can’t do anything for you?

Will I be less of a person when I have nothing to give you?

Will I be less of a person when I can’t hold you up anymore?

It’s tempting to think, Yes.

But no.

I will still be who I always have been.

A woman of proven character and great value.

A woman longed for and sought out.

A woman cherished and cared for intimately.

And you can either appreciate that or you can’t.

Either way, it’s no longer my problem.

 

 

Leave a Reply

