No Such Thing as a Lousy Job?

“There is no such thing as a lousy job, only lousy men who refuse to do it.” ~Ayn Rand, Atlas Shrugged

It’s odd, I used to believe that quote was true. I guess I’d never worked a lousy job. I’d had lousy days at a job, but never had a job that was lousy.

I don’t necessarily think there are lousy jobs even now. I’ve discovered I’m willing to do almost anything to earn a living, and I’ve never turned my nose up at a job because it’s “beneath me.” No, I’m not that kind of person.

I do, however, believe there are lousy employers. Employers who don’t care about their employees, as is demonstrated by cruddy pay rates, lack of benefits, hostile work environments and the like. And I have started turning my nose up at the jobs they offer.

I have a feeling I’m about to be offered a job that a lot of people would consider lousy. I don’t think it’s lousy: it’s a similar environment to what I’ve worked in for years, and I hear the company is a competitive employer in its business. It’s not in my field, and I don’t want to make a career out of it, but I’m certain it will be a decent job. And at this time, that’s all I need.

I’m going to get a lot of flak if I take this job. People will say, “You left your full-time job to do this?” And it’s very likely that I did. Because believe it or not, this is a better job than that.

Leave a Reply

