Writing Is the Key

Writing is the key.

More accurately, it is the path. I don’t believe there is a lock, or even a closed door. In fact, I don’t think there’s a door at all, just a doorway to walk through.

And in order to get there, I have to write.

Writing is not paying my bills; writing has never paid my bills. But I’m expected to accept that writing is the path, and that I must walk down it in faith.

Honestly, I’m scared, because what I’m doing right now isn’t cutting it financially. I am pursuing other jobs: full-time, better-paying; part-time, supplemental and nothing. It seems silly to take an hour or so every day from job-searching time to write, but I hear, Writing is the path.

If I just had the right job, making enough money, I would have time to write and not worry. Why not just provide the job, God? I guess this month I’m down to the wire: trusting God, while writing AND looking for employment, with no guarantee but a small whisper saying, Writing is the path, even when nothing appears to be changing.

Bugger, this is hard.

Tagged , , , , , , ,

2 thoughts on “Writing Is the Key

  1. eptaylor says:

    Hi,

    I’ve nominated you for a Liebster Award! You can check it out here http://eptaylor.wordpress.com/wp-admin/post.php?post=1036&action=edit&message=6&postpost=v2

  2. […] Tuesday was a discouraging day for me as a writer. I just felt like I was not getting done what needed to be done, like I was failing in what God has called me to do. So I blogged about that yesterday. […]

Leave a Reply

