Thoughts on The Field

Regina Spektor’s “The Call” makes me think of The Field, or of the process of writing The Field.  Especially this part: “It started out as a feeling / Which then grew into a hope / Which then turned into a quiet thought / Which then turned into a quiet word / And then that word grew louder and louder / ‘Til it was a battle cry.”

That’s really how it happened, you know. I never intended for it to be a 120-page, 60-chapter, 3-part work – not for a minute. It started out as this really vivid picture in my mind. Then I used it way back on my first blog as an object lesson for a spiritual concept I was trying to get across. From there it became a six-chapter allegory. I thought it was thin and that I could do better, so I filled it out (way filled it out), and now it is where it is.

I have a lot of writing projects I’m working on, but this one is the most unique, and the most challenging. It’s hard because it is a spiritual allegory, and during my time writing it, I always struggle with feeling that it’s lame or not working or nobody will ever want to read it. At the same time, I know it needs to be written, so I push through those discouraging moments, and well, write.

And it’s almost ready for publication. I don’t know the details of how I’m going to do that yet, whether a traditional route or self-publishing, but I do know I will be putting it “out there.”

Battle cry, here we come!

Don’t forget to enter for your chance to win a copy of The Field here through June 30th, 2014 or purchase your copy today.

Tagged , , ,

Leave a Reply

