Promises

I cling to these promises on days and weeks like these.  When I hear the United States government is going to run out of money to pay its bills by Thursday unless something happens, and I hear an enemy whisper, If the government of the world’s largest economy can’t pay its bills, why do you expect to pay yours?

One way or another, I will have the money to pay my bills exactly as I need it, not because I’m this awesome person, but because of my great God.

“The earth is the Lord’s, and all its fullness” (Psalm 24:1a).

“And my God shall supply all your need according to His riches in glory by Christ Jesus” (Philippians 4:19).

“And God is able to make all grace abound toward you, that you, always having sufficiency in all things, might have an abundance for every good work” (2 Corinthians 9:8).

“Ask, and it will be given to you; seek, and you will find; knock, and it will be opened to you.  For everyone who asks receives, and he who seeks finds, and to him who knocks it will be opened … If you, being evil, know how to give good gifts to your children, how much more will your Heavenly Father give good things to those who ask Him” (Matthew 7:7-8,11).

I still have times of doubt.  I had three or four melt downs yesterday alone, because I can’t see what’s coming.  I have to refocus every. single. time.  I have to remember: Who am I serving?

 

Tagged , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

