Re

Recharge, refuel, replenish.

My day today.

This morning I was reflecting on Israel’s transition from the wilderness to the promised land.  I was thinking about how the wilderness journey is both applicable on macro and micro levels to believers.  On the macro level, this entire life is temporary before we enter eternity in the presence of God.  On a micro level, I think God calls us to something and then puts us in training for as long as He sees fit before bringing us to what He has called us to.

I’ve been on a micro level wilderness journey for a few years, but now I’ve come to my micro level Jordan River, which I must cross to meet my micro level promised land, so this morning I read Deuteronomy 8-9 and skimmed Joshua 1-12.  I was struck by a handful of things.

Whether crossing the Jordan or inhabiting the land, remembering the Lord is the most important thing.  “And you shall remember that the LORD your God led you all the way these forty years in the wilderness, to humble you and test you, to know what was in your heart, whether or not you would keep His commandments … When you have eaten and are full, then you shall bless the LORD your God for the good land which He has given you … And you shall remember the LORD your God, for it is He who gives you power to get wealth” (Deut. 8:2, 10, 18a).  My path has taken some unexpected turns the past three years, but God has been with me, leading me the entire time.  I think it would be easy for me to get to Seattle and whatever is waiting for me there and forget Who brought me there to begin with, to forget that I am there for Him.  I want to remember His getting me there! That’s part of what this blog is for: little altars memorializing God’s direction.

Just as the Israelites did, I will cross over my Jordan on dry land.  “Then you shall let your children know, saying, ‘Israel crossed over this Jordan on dry land” (Joshua 4:22).  I confess, I don’t know how I’m going to get there; in fact, from a human standpoint, given what is going on my life, I shouldn’t get there at all.  And yet, there’s this niggling feeling I get thinking about Seattle: it’s where God wants me to be.  And if God wants me to be there, He will get me there.  I don’t have to make anything happen, I just obey His leading.

The promised land will not come without a fight.  Joshua 12 records thirty-one kings that Israel defeated because of God’s power in order to inherit the promised land, and the first twelve chapters of Joshua detail those battles. “Therefore understand today that the LORD your God is He who goes before you as a consuming fire. He will destroy them and bring them down before you; so you shall drive them out quickly as the LORD has said to you” (Deut. 9:3). There are a lot of daunting things as I plan to relocate to a completely different area of the country, somewhere completely unfamiliar, somewhere I don’t really know anybody.  It could be overwhelming if I didn’t remember Who is going before me.

Finally, this is not happening because of me or anything I’ve done.  I’d love to tell you God is moving me to Seattle because I’ve been a really good girl and He’s rewarding me.  Nope.  It’s simply because He is good and wants good things for me, and part of that is He wants me there, He has something (or several somethings) He wants me to do there.  He’s the ability, He’s the reason, every step of the way.

Church was great, too! I visited Vintage Church McKinney and really enjoyed being able to just be a seat-warmer.  It’s not often (haha, okay, EVER) I get to do that, because even when I’m new to a church, I have a tendency to jump in.  It was just nice. I could probably stand to say more, but I don’t want to have my words misconstrued, so I’ll leave it. 🙂

Recharged, refueled, replenished.

Let’s do this!

Tagged , , , , , , , , , ,

One thought on “Re

  1. […] This morning I was reflecting on Israel’s transition from the wilderness to the promised land.  I was thinking about how the wilderness journey is both applicable on macro and micro levels to believers.  On the macro level, this entire life is temporary before we enter eternity in the presence of God.  On a micro level, I think God calls us to something and then puts us in training for as long as He sees fit before bringing us to what He has called us to.  (Re, Wilderness Adventure). […]

Leave a Reply

