Approval Ratings

I used to be hungry for approval, like I’m sometimes hungry for food.  I’d gone my life without it, then I tasted it, and fell in love with it.  Suddenly, I needed it.  And like I do with food when I’m extremely hungry, I took what I could get.

Then I learned the hard way.  Approval is a weapon wielded by those who possess its power.  It’s never a weapon in the hand of the one trying to earn it.  I stopped wanting it when I realized people were trying to control me by withholding it.

It turned bitter in my mouth.

God never intended me to be striving for the approval of the human race.  His approval is all I care about anymore.

“For do I now seek to persuade men, or God? Or do I seek the approval of man? If I sought the approval of man, I would not be the bondservant of Christ” (Galatians 1:10).

Yesterday somebody made a series of comments that there was no point in doing what he does if nobody saw it.  And I suppose somebody seeing it motivates this person.  It doesn’t motivate me, and that’s a good thing.  If I only worked on things people could see, I’d never get my novel done.  I’d only write this blog.  I would think, “What’s the point of writing at all, if nobody can read it?”

The point is that I’m doing something I enjoy, I’m being obedient to God by pursuing my writing, whether people see it or not. My enjoyment brings delight to the heart of my Father.  He sees and He is pleased with what I’m doing.

Leave a Reply

