Give Me a Revelation

I’m not a huge fan of Third Day, but every couple of years, one of their songs will punch me in the gut. (Hope For the Hopeless, for example).

Tonight is the first time I’ve really listened to this song, and it caught me with the lyrics, “Tell me, should I stay here? Or do I need to move?” Let me tell you, this is my dilemma tonight, and it’s been my dilemma for months.  I don’t even know how to pray about it anymore: I go between praying for God to open the door wherever He wants me and praying for Seattle opportunities.  Most days, I don’t care anymore, I just need God to open a door somewhere, anywhere.  This is me: “I’m tired of losing hope and taking chances/On roads that never seem/To be the ones that bring me home.”

“You say, ‘I am rich. I have everything I want. I don’t need a thing!’ And you don’t realize that you are wretched and miserable and poor and blind and naked. So I advise you to buy gold from me—gold that has been purified by fire. Then you will be rich. Also buy white garments from me so you will not be shamed by your nakedness, and ointment for your eyes so you will be able to see.  I correct and discipline everyone I love. So be diligent and turn from your indifference” (Revelation 3:17-19).

Heavenly Father, I am not making it, not at all.  I don’t know where You want me to go, but I know I don’t want to go anywhere without You. I can’t go anywhere without you.  The roads I’ve taken without you have left me wretched and miserable and poor and blind and naked.  I want Your wealth, Your provision.  I need Your wealth, Your provision.  I come to You and admit, God, I don’t have a clue! Please show me, God – show me where You want me, open the doors for me to be there (really BE there, God), provide for all of my needs there.  There is no one else who can take care of me like You do.  In Jesus’ name, Amen.

Tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

