Hope

“Hope deferred makes the heart sick, but when the desire comes it is a tree of life” (Proverbs 13:12).

I know about hope deferred; at times, this season of my life has been characterized by hope deferred.  It does make my heart a little sick, a little less hopeful.  I think I got to a place where I stopped hoping altogether, and this past year has been about gradually reclaiming hope in my heart.

Advent is all about hope realized: that life-giving bloom in your heart when your expectations come.  It’s about how all of the hope in a Savior from sin was realized.

What am I hoping for this Advent season?

  • Christ’s return, when He’ll take me to be with Him – where I belong – forever, when God will wipe all tears away from my eyes.  I’m just ready.
  • For clear direction and purpose in my life – I sort of have no idea what I’m doing anymore. (Mostly just trying to stay above water).
  • A city to live in.

 

Tagged , , ,

Leave a Reply

