We Make Ourselves Beautiful

“Though you clothe yourself with crimson, though you adorn yourself with ornaments of gold, though you enlarge your eyes with paint, in vain you will make yourself fair: your lovers will despise you; they will seek your life” (Jeremiah 4:30 NKJV).

Some girls use clothes, and jewelry, and makeup to make themselves more attractive, more desirable.  To a certain extent, so do I.  More often than not, though, I use ministry.  In an effort to be the kind of person I want to attract and all that.

Because I know without all of these things I do, there really isn’t anything attractive.  I have to be something constantly in order to disguise the fact that I’m not actually anything special.

There’s nothing wrong with making things beautiful and attractive.  God created beauty.  God IS Beauty.  But what am I chasing when I do all of this stuff?

Usually, a status where people are more likely to be gracious when I make a mistake because of all of the things I do.  Usually, an attempt to be worthy of a great, godly guy.  Usually, respect from church leadership and friends and well, just about anybody.

Problem is, it all crumbles at a certain point, and when you’re the one building yourself up, there is no grace, there is no worthiness, there is no respect.  It’s just ugly, and everyone knows.  (And sadly, some people are happy about it).

What if I rested in God’s beauty and attraction and I let others see Him and not me? What if I rested in God’s beauty and attraction so that others know that when they come to me I will point them to Him and not my experiences? What if people see and know I am nothing and that God is everything?

 

Tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

