We Can’t End It

I get so caught up in the technicalities of what people say.  There’s probably a medical name for it, because I swear it’s a disease.  I don’t want people to come away from this post with the wrong impression, because I am as anti-slavery, anti-trafficking as they come.  I have a red X on each of my hands supporting raising awareness for modern slavery today.  But I wrestle with the phrase “in it to end it.”

There are an estimated 27 million slaves in our world today.  It was never, I repeat NEVER God’s intention that one human should live in bondage to another. We know bondage is one of the consequences of humans choosing to hand our lives over to an enemy rather than obey God.

Being realistic, we’re not going to end this today or any day before Jesus returns and makes everything right, so I’m not in it to end it.  I can’t end it. As human beings, WE can’t end it.  I do, however, want to do my part to raise awareness and lessen it when and where I can. We can all do that.

Forcing another human being into slavery is WRONG.  If we’re Christians, we have a message of liberty that Jesus himself preached: “The Spirit of the Lord God is upon me, because the Lord has anointed me to bring good news to the afflicted; He has sent me to bind up the brokenhearted, to proclaim liberty to captives and freedom to prisoners” (Isaiah 61:1 NASB). So, yes, let’s liberate people from slavery when and where we can, but remember that true liberty is found in Christ, and Christ alone!  He is the One who can truly say He is in it to end it.

Tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

