With The Future In Mind

I watched a short called ReMoved on the Relevant site a few weeks ago.  (Watch it here).

It hit me in the gut for a number of reasons, but the primary reason is that God has laid it on my heart to someday foster (and adopt) children.  It is something I regularly pray for my future husband and I.

The week I saw this short film, I was dealing with things from my past (and I suppose present to a certain extent) – a lot of pain and anger.  And I’d been wondering why it was so important for me to have gone through the pain in the past, and why it is so important for me to deal with the anger now.  I wondered why God hadn’t intervened in the past and why He  has forced me to confront what I’ve been through.

As I watched this film,  I felt God tug at my heart: This is why, He whispered.  In order to minister to the children I bring to you,  you need to understand where they are coming from.

In a place even the closest to me have not always been privileged to see, God is teaching me to love hurting individuals, who’ve been wounded by something warped and twisted that parades itself as love.   In a place of sticking to very difficult things, God is teaching me to persist in loving hurting people who are continually lashing out at me.   God is teaching me to be a continual outpouring of His love, His goodness, His righteousness, His grace; to walk with people, I mean really walk with people, even when it gets ugly; and to obey Him, to be exactly who and where He wants me to be.

Every part of my story He has written with the future in mind.

Tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

