Not My Own

This morning at Vintage Church McKinney, we started a series called “Famous Last Words.”  We looked at the words of Jesus as He prayed at Gethsemane, “Not My will, but Yours.”  There was a lot of talk about surrender, submission, and dying to self; the battle between our wills and God’s; the cost of following Jesus.

At one point we looked at Galatians 2:20, which says, “I have been crucified with Christ.  It is no longer I who live, but Christ lives in me. The life I now live in the flesh, I live for the Son of God who loved me and gave Himself for me.”

Last year, as I was meditating on God’s presence, the phrase “Christ lives in me” took on a new meaning.  He makes his residence in me.  He is with me wherever I am.

This year, I’m looking at a new part of the verse: “I live for the Son of God.” Because I have accepted Jesus as my Savior and Lord, my existence centers around Him.

This means this life is not about me.  It’s not about how I feel.  It’s not about my desires.  It’s not about what I have to offer.  It’s not about where I think I should be or what I think I should be doing.  It’s not about when someone steps on my toes or downright wrongs me.

To a much lesser extent, it means this life is not about other people.  (Gasp).  It’s not about what others feel.  It’s not about what others desire or want from me.  It’s not about what I can do for them.  It’s not about where others think I should be or what I should be doing.  It’s not about never offending people.

It’s about Christ.  It’s about what He feels.  It’s about what He desires.  It’s about what He has given me.  It’s about where He wants me and what He wants me doing.  It’s about not offending and wronging Him.

HE is paramount.

Now, I should state for the record (before I get chewed out by my readers): living for Christ will absolutely, beyond any shadow of any doubt involve serving and caring for others.  It absolutely involves living at peace with others, “as much as it depends on me” (Romans 12:18).  It may also include times of personal retreat to replenish myself in Him; to take care of health issues; to process life stuff in general.

None of these things are bad; they’re necessary.  But when I am doing anything for ANY reason other than God calling me to do it, it’s wrong.  It’s wrong because my life is supposed to be HIS – not someone else’s, and certainly not mine.

After all, “I am not my own.  I have been bought with a price” (1 Cor. 6:19b, paraphrased).

I feel like this is my lesson never fully learned.  It’s not about anyone or anything besides Christ.

Oh well. I suppose I will get there someday.  (Maybe?? Hopefully??)

 

Tagged , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

