What About Seattle?

I hear this question sometimes.  People remind me at the most inconvenient times, like when I’m about to interview for my dream job locally, and a tiny thought begins to gnaw at me:  Is it really my dream job if it’s not in Seattle?  Maybe on this one thing (relocating to Seattle), God and I are on the same page.

I haven’t forgotten about Seattle.  I really and truly believe God will bring me there at some point in my life.  (Full disclosure: I’ve been wrong before).

But I am here right now, and I don’t know when God plans on me going to Seattle.  Circumstances of late with closing DFW doors make me hope it’s soon, and of course, it’s my prayer to be there by the end of the year, but we all know God’s timing is not mine.

Another thing has come up over the past couple of weeks (not a job), and it’s something that would be good for me to do.   It’s something I enjoy, something I’m good at, something that just makes sense.  Only, it doesn’t make sense if I’m going to be relocated to Seattle in the next few months.

I can’t say with any certainty that I am, by the way.  God hasn’t given me any dates along with this vision to be in Seattle, just a sense that’s where I’m headed at this point.  I don’t want to be side-tracked from all He has for me, but I also don’t want to miss out on what He wants now because I’m so future-focused.  (And future-focused on something I’m not 100% positive is going to happen).

As I’m writing this, though, the more I feel like I am doing exactly what God wants me to be doing right now.  Like, I need to take things day by day, and not settle into any long term commitments here.  And that stinks, because if there’s anything I’m beyond ready for, it’s long term commitment.

Sigh.

Tagged , , , , , ,

2 thoughts on “What About Seattle?

  1. Askme says:

    If it is Seattle at some point, let’s do coffee. 😉

Leave a Reply

