Persistent and Consistent

The two things I think God has been working with me on lately.

Persistent. Per-sis-tent. Adjective. The ability to continue doing something or trying to do something even though it is difficult or opposed.

Consistent. Con-sis-tent. Adjective. Always acting or behaving in the same way: of the same quality; especially, good each time.

Learning to be persistent and consistent in asking God to relocate me to Seattle, to provide for me emotionally and financially during the interim (however long that may be), and other personal stuff.

Learning to be persistent and consistent in my search for a full-time job.

Learning to be persistent and consistent in my writing projects: in advertising my recently-published book (The Field), in writing 1,000 words a day for my second book, and developing a Proverbs curriculum for Sunday School and Kids’ Clubs.

Honestly, there are days when none of this seems to be making any kind of difference at all, and its hard to be persistent and consistent.  There are days when I deal with emotional stuff and I don’t think I can cope, and its hard to go through any kind of daily routine, let alone to be persistent and consistent.

Today has been one. of. those. days.

As I was working on the Proverbs project, I reread two verses that reminded me of my purpose, especially as a writer:

A man’s gift makes room for him, and brings him before great men. (Proverbs 18:16).

Do you see a man who excels in his work? He will stand before kings; he will not stand before unknown men. (Proverbs 22:29).

While it’s not my goal to be known by great people, it is my goal to excel.  And in order to excel, I have to be persistent and consistent in my habits.

Nobody ever said that would be easy.

 

 

Tagged , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

