Plot Twist

I’m supposed to be writing a science fiction story, Update.  I say supposed to be because I’ve been kicking the concept around in my mind for the past five months and even have a couple thousand words written, but it’s not gelling.  And when I say it’s not gelling, I mean I have no idea where I’m going with it.

I’m going to set it aside for awhile and focus on something that’s been inside of me for a lot longer than the science fiction story, but (as with The Field) I want to put it in a fiction setting.  I’m not ready to share anything about it yet, just that I’m switching gears from what I have been working on.  I’m putting Update in my pile of things to come back to.

Today seems to be a day for switching gears and plot changes, as I’m also setting Seattle aside for a little while. (No one is more shocked about that than me).  I still want to go, but as I mentioned in my Getting Free post, I’m still dealing with consequences of decisions I made years ago, and there is no easy way out.  It will be at least the end of August next year before I am free to go (anywhere, not just Seattle), unless something miraculous happens.  And I’m not saying it won’t, but in my experience, it’s not likely either, so you know, adjusting my expectations just seems like a better idea than hoping.

So here’s to the next fourteen months.  Here’s to working hard in my jobs and as a writer.  Here’s to putting down roots until I’m transplanted, if I’m ever transplanted.  Here’s to freedom that’s closer than six years ago and two years ago. Here’s to sucking it up and being a robot when I need to just get through the day.  Here’s to not waiting anymore.

The less glamorous side of my wilderness adventure.

 

Tagged , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

