Marvelous Light

But you are a chosen generation, a royal priesthood, a holy nation, His own special people, that you may proclaim the praises of Him who called you out of darkness into His marvelous light; who once were not a people but are now the people of God, who had not obtained mercy but now have obtained mercy. (1 Peter 2:9-10 NKJV).

He has enabled you to share in the inheritance that belongs to his people, who live in the light. For he has rescued us from the kingdom of darkness and transferred us into the Kingdom of his dear Son, who purchased our freedom and forgave our sins. (Colossians 1:12b-14 NLT).

For those of you who don’t know, I love to sing, but I’ve been stuck gifted with this range that is really perfect for country music.  I am always looking for praise, worship, and CCM songs within my range.  With the exception of a few Francesca Battistelli songs, I haven’t found much.  I was really excited to find Ellie Holcomb and her song “Marvelous Light.” (Well, all of her songs really, but this is the one I’m learning now).

I’m not who I once was
Defined by all the things I’ve done
Afraid my shame would be exposed
Afraid of really being known
But then you gave my heart a home

So I walked out of the darkness and into the light
From fear of shame into a hope of life
Mercy called my name and right away to fly
Out of the darkness and into the light

With years of keeping secrets safe
Wondering if I could change
Cause when you’re hiding all alone
Your heart can turn into a stone
And that’s not the way I wanted to go

So I walk out of the darkness and into the light
From fear of shame and into a hope of life
Mercy called my name and right away to fly
Out of the darkness an into the light

There’s no place I would rather be
Your light is Marvelous
Your light is Marvelous

You have come to set us free
You are Marvelous
Your light is Marvelous

[lalalalalalalala…]

So I walked out of the darkness an into the light
From fear of shame into a hope of life
Mercy called my name and right away to fly
Out of the darkness an into the light

[lalalalalalalala…]

(Ellie Holcomb)
On Sunday evening, a friend and I were talking about what God is teaching us.  For me, God is teaching me about His marvelous light.
I can live in God’s marvelous light anywhere I am.  When something is “marvelous” it means that it is “good” and “pleasing.”  Honestly, there is not much in my life that I consider good and pleasing – right now, life is mostly just hard.    This light right now is not some happy, fluffy feeling – it’s hardcore exposure in my deepest brokenness, things I didn’t even know were there.
He sheds light on what is causing my pain on the nights I cry on my way home from work or in my bed.  He gets under the surface and shows me what’s really broken.  He sheds light on why I am where I am in random conversations at work.  He shows me why I belong here and not where everyone else thinks I should be.  He sheds light on those moments where I am just breathing in and out, and putting one foot in front of the other.  He uncovers a thirst for passion and excitement and something more than this life.
Frankly, my gut instinct is to bury it all.
If I do that, though, I miss the point: my freedom.
So I fight through the initial pain of this marvelous exposure, because the truth? It sets me free.  And maybe, with time, I’ll be able to sing the la-la-la’s with some conviction.

 

 

Tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

