Switching Gears

It’s July 1st.  Can you believe it? Yeah, neither can I.

The Field Giveaway Sweepstakes ended yesterday and we have a winner: Alyssa Helfrich.  Congratulations, Alyssa, and happy reading!

In the days and months since publishing The Field, I’ve been dealing with a lot of different life stuff.

I’ve shared on here about how over fifteen months ago I effectively walked away from what I had been preparing myself for in the four years leading up to that point.  I felt like God was calling me to something different, although I had no idea what that was.  So I walked away from my plans into His.

Well, last night, on my way home from work, I’m whining to God because I walked away from my plans over fifteen months ago, and I have nothing to show for it.  And I hear this whisper, Excuse Me? You’re an hour and a half away from a giveaway for a book you wrote! Nothing to show for it? And I was sorry at that point, because God is right. There is no way, had I continued in the path I had prepared for, that I would have finished my book.  I am the writer who has prioritized every other thing above her writing.  Instead of giving me what I’d been begging for, God gave me independence and a flexible schedule.

Why?  Because for this season, writing is my something better.  This is what God has given me to do.  And while I have my moments wishing I had a career or a romantic relationship,  I really, truly love what God has me doing right now.

Writing being what God has called me to, my writing is opposed.  I don’t mean the message of my writing is opposed (it may well be, but I haven’t had any haters yet, so…); I mean the act of prioritizing writing and sitting down to write is opposed.  For me, it is always tempting to put it off and do something else instead.  Most of all will probably not believe me, but the week I wrote the climax of The Field was one of the most stressful weeks of my life: I was anxious about money, anxious about getting another job, my carpal tunnel was flaring up and my neck was so stiff I couldn’t move my head. I don’t think it had anything to do with what I was writing (although, I do love the climax of The Field), I think it was just the fact that I was writing. The reality is that when I’m writing, I’m living fully, and I have an enemy who loves to see me scrape along.

Forget him! I’m only interested in finding joy in what God has given me to do.

That being said, I’m enjoying exploring the themes of The Field here on my blog, and sincerely hope what you read here compels you to buy a copy soon! While I’ll continue facilitating discussions on those themes, it’s time to switch gears.

This month I began work on what will be my next book (maybe novel)! The big title unveiling will be on August 1, 2014, but I’m dedicating the month of July to writing about the themes in this new project.  In fact, most of my social media postings (including Pinterest!) will be geared towards the new project.  On one hand, I’m excited about this project, on the other, it involves a lot of things I’m a little scared to talk about (even in a completely fiction setting).

So bring on July!

Tagged , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

