I am a writer with damage in my writing hand and wrist, and I don’t have a computer.

I am recovering from a binge-eating disorder and dealing with Type II diabetes, and I don’t have a microwave.

If I’m having a good day, it doesn’t matter. I can pour my heart out through a pen and paper. I can prepare a meal or reheat one in the oven or on the stove. If I’m having a good day, I often think it’s a good thing – having to slow down from 45 WPM, having to be sensitive enough about my body to have food ready before my blood sugar crashes.

But if I’m having a bad day, it’s a fight to sit at my desk with a pen and a notebook. It’s a fight to make or reheat food. And it’s a fight I don’t always win. In fact, most days, this season, I don’t win.

And even though one of my core values is Mother Teresa’s “Live simply, so others may simply live,” I am making it a priority to invest in these two things. To make those bad days a little easier to fight through.

I have to prioritize. I have a book I’ve been working on for twelve years. I am committed to making this year this book’s year. And my body is only going to take so much before it gives out (which is why I have Type II diabetes to begin with). I am committed to taking better care of myself.

That means, in this season, there are other things I cannot invest in. It’s not that I don’t want to. Right now, I can’t. I don’t have what I need for everything I’d like to be part of.

And that’s okay. Because God abundantly gives me everything I need for everything I need to be and do. Everything else should fall away.

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

