See, I set before you today life and prosperity, death and destruction. This day I call the heavens and the earth as witnesses against you that I have set before you life and death, blessings and curses. Now choose life.

~Deuteronomy 30:15, 19-20a NIV

You have a choice to make.

Nobody is going to twist your arm.

He wants you to choose life, you know – God does.

I want you to choose life, too, but I’m afraid you won’t. I’m afraid you’re good with how things are going, and how things are going is destroying you. I hate anything that destroys you.

Some of the things you’re choosing, you’re choosing because you’ve seen they hurt me. Maybe you think that makes you powerful to hurt me, but the only reason they hurt me – the only reason – is because they’re destroying you, not because they’re in any way destroying me.

See, I’ve already chosen life. The reason I’ve spent so much of my time bending God’s ear about you in the past few months is because time is running out for you. And I can’t make the choice for you. Nor do I want to.

God’s not hiding from you. At my request, and probably the requests of many others, He’s shown Himself again and again and again in your life over the past few months. But He won’t make you choose, either.

So what are you going to do with all of this? That you’re a big enough deal to be chased after by God? That you’re loved, no matter what? That you’re wanted? That day after day after day, God brings you and things to pray for you up in my heart and in my thoughts, and that in turn I’m willing to do ask for things to work in your favor, in spite of the fact that you walked all over me for months before putting a knife in me and twisting it around?

Do you even understand it? I don’t know any other way to say it. You’re loved. You’re loved. You’re loved. That’s not going to change. Ever. The only thing that might change – that I hope changes – is that you realize it. That you accept it. That you operate from it.

But it’s your choice.

The Most Powerful Force in the universe is pulling for your victory.

But it’s still your choice.

Me? I’m going to keep talking to God about you, and because He wants and loves and accepts both of us, He’s going to keep listening and working in your life. I’m going to keep talking about how stinkin’ loved you are – by God and me and many, many others – and I’m going to keep hoping you’ll get it one of these days. I’m going to keep talking about this choice you have until you make it.

Much love. ❤

Leave a Reply

