Becoming a Person of Joy

“…Let the hearts of those who seek the LORD rejoice…” – Psalm 105:3b

This is my one resolution for this next season: become a person of joy – throbbing, heart-swelling joy.

This season has been a shaking season, a dark season, a stretching season, but through it, I’ve inherited so much strength, so much hope, so much bravery. And I am grateful.

But the season is changing. The light is coming, and everything light brings. It will come as a fire at first, I know. I find myself alert, and strong, and fierce to meet it.

And the one thing I want to be in this season, the one thing I want others to see in this season is a person who savors life. I want to be a person of wonder – tasting and enjoying every little thing. I want to be a person of gratitude – at peace knowing the good, the bad, and the ugly in my life are woven into a masterpiece by the hands of the Redeemer and being thankful for it. I want to be a person who operates from victory and not loss – to grieve losses for what they are and then … let them go. I want to be a person of grace – to be patient with myself, with my circumstances, and with others, abiding in empathy and the understanding that this life is a journey and nothing happens all at once. I want to be a person who allows herself to be fiercely pursued and known and loved – to not accept and magnify scraps that will leave me empty and rob me of joy. I want to be a person of community – to do life with people and let them do life with me. I want to be my Father’s daughter – to relinquish control in every area of my life where I’m trying to make something happen.

Ready or not, here it comes.

“Arise, shine, for your light has come,
    and the glory of the Lord rises upon you.
See, darkness covers the earth
    and thick darkness is over the peoples,
but the Lord rises upon you
    and his glory appears over you.
 Nations will come to your light,
    and kings to the brightness of your dawn.

 Then you will look and be radiant,
    your heart will throb and swell with joy.” -Isaiah 60:1-3, 5a NIV

Leave a Reply

