What do you know?

“Now this I know: The Lord gives victory to his anointed. He answers him from his heavenly sanctuary with the victorious power of his right hand” (Psalm 20:7 NIV).

“I know that the Lord secures justice for the poor and upholds the cause of the needy” (Psalm 140:12 NIV).

As I’ve seen God rise up for me in the past two months, this is what I know:

  • God is so much bigger than me, and none of His plans, purposes, and promises can be thwarted by what I do or don’t do.
  • God fiercely loves, jealously protects, and mercifully vindicates His own.
  • God lays things on our hearts to pray – things He wants to do. He gives us grace to pray these things, and powerfully works through them.
  • God removes things we’re praying for from our hearts, and the grace to pray for them, not necessarily because He’s done working, but because He’s working in a different way.
  • God ordains and changes the seasons of our lives.
  • God cares about what I care about.
  • God doesn’t force anyone’s hand.
  • God alone satisfies.
  • God speaks to us in whatever way we will hear, because God wants to be heard.
  • God is not impressed when we’re out doing “big” things for Him when the things closest to home are neglected.
  • God alone redeems.

What do you know?

2 thoughts on “What do you know?

  1. Elizabeth says:

    Hello, I am enjoying reading all your writing here! Thank you for sharing from your heart. It is an encouragement to read what you have to say.

    I know that God is merciful and holy. He is forgiving and willing to use my life even when I have given up hope and am scared of the future. He uses other people to show His love to us. Your second to last point convicted me to be more faithful in helping at home.

    I have really been enjoying finding jewels in Isaiah the last 3 years. Here are two that have inspired me.

    For thus says the High and Lofty One
    Who inhabits eternity, whose name is Holy:
    “I dwell in the high and holy place,
    With him who has a contrite and humble spirit,
    To revive the spirit of the humble,
    And to revive the heart of the contrite ones.
    Isaiah 57:15

    For I, the Lord your God, will hold your right hand,
    Saying to you, ‘Fear not, I will help you.’
    Isaiah 41:13

Leave a Reply

